Reviews

L3G4CY Album Reviewed by Hypnagogue Reviews

posted Jul 14, 2015, 1:40 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Jul 14, 2015, 1:40 PM ]

"...  It’s energetic, it rocks, it pings those old-school pleasure centers, and it can just be a lot of fun to listen to. 
A good tribute to the Maestro*, and well worth a listen..."
* The late Edgar Froese of Tangerine Dream
July 13, 205 

"...With all the standard elements of the Berlin framework in place—thick. tangy sequencer lines and big, dramatic chords that land like meteor strikes—what really draws my ear here is the ass-kicking guitar work... "

To read the complete review please visit

L3G4CY Album Review by Synth Caresses

posted Jul 8, 2015, 1:07 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Jul 8, 2015, 1:08 PM ]

“L3g4cy” is the fifth outing of Kuutana’s side project, Sequential Dreams, inspired by the musical visions of Tangerine Dream. This latest effort obviously had to pay tribute to the memory of late Edgar Froese, and a good tribute it is!
July 8, 2015

    According to the liner notes of this album, “Mr. Froese is quoted as saying “There is no death, there is just a change of our cosmic address”. And it’s with this in mind that the L3G4CY album cover and album track titles portray this new cosmic address. […] Listeners will recognize musical sounds and idioms that are very familiar to the TD or EF listener. ”
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/l3g4cy

This album is filled to the rim with guitar-like solos, providing a rocky edge feeling to it all. Let’s have a look at its contents:

L3g4cy”, the eponymous track, opens the album with upfront TD influences, but also that great progressive touch from his Midnight Airship project. This track sounds powerful, menacing and rocky. A great starter full of analogue sounds!

The Sea of Stars”, featuring Johan Tronestam,  plunges headlong into a sequencer craze right from the start and contains beautiful melodies, especially the guitar riffs.


Spirit Trance” lives up to its name. it’s trance-like and has got some instantly recognizable TD sounds from the early 80’s -namely, “Exit” and “White Eagle”.

On “HyperSpace” the TD ghost stays with us. Altocirrus joins in on this one, for the first time on a Sequential Dreams project. We are now travelling through the 90’s, no doubt. Rocky, harsh solos on keyboards and guitars keep unfolding all along this track.

Lovely sounds open “Light Years Away”. The listener is not given a single moment’s rest, for this is another powerful number, showing Kuutana’s strong style. It contains, and I quote, “contemporary ChillStep sounds and beats.”

On “Blue Galaxy” Celestial View is featured. It’s a composition that catches your ear from the moment it starts, with great beats and tunes thrown it for good measure. The shadow of TD’s “White Clouds” definitely hovers all throughout this piece, but this is a more modern approach to that classical TD track. My favourite so far.

Escape Velocity” slows down the pace a little bit, but in a deceptive way, as by the third minute, things start to gather and here’s when Kuutana stands on the throttle to thrust the piece ever forward. Quoting the liner notes again: “Escape Velocity” is a “New Berlin School” genre electronic rock track that presents sounds that should be familiar to Tangerine Dream listeners of the “Virgin” and “Blue” years eras.”

Orbital Maneuvers” has another laid-back intro before the action takes control. Here we find the more prog side of Kuutana, namely, his Midnight Airship project, which tries to link the world of Tangerine Dream and Pink Floyd in one track.

Light Beyond the Abyss” has reminiscences to TD’s “Mojave Plan” in the sequencer line and effects, featuring the Japanese shakuhachi flute sampled sound. I like it!

The Phoenix” is a revamped version of the track “Fire”, previously released on “The Cosmic Touch” album but without the aid of Daniel Wolf. 

L3G4CY Album Review by Synth&Sequences

posted Apr 1, 2015, 5:24 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Apr 1, 2015, 7:04 PM ]

"I quite liked this balance between the heavy but nervous e-rock and those more ethereal atmospheres. Between these old tones and those more contemporary in the last miles of Edgar. It's the beautiful recipe, a little daring, for another attractive work of the global collective that is Sequential Dreams."
A Review of Sequential Dream's Fifth Album "L3G4CY"
By Sylvain Lupari, Synth&Sequences, April 1, 2015 



https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/l3g4cy
" ...Quite appealing album from Sequential Dreams entitled simply but esthetically “L3G4CY”. 

And that begins with the title-track which, imho, is the best of this collection of 10 tracks. Arabian murmurs and contemporary chords open an intro which throws us for a brief moment in the tentacles of the  Jerome Froese years, especially with this line of stroboscopic sequences which bites our eardrums and used to shape these structures of nervous rhythm which fed the TDI era. Except that here the rhythm rests in suspension. Between two possibilities where the ambiences which settle down bring us back in the Green Desert times. The synth is soft with spectral harmonies which make shining the Flashpoint years. And it's one of the beautiful attractions of “L3G4CY”. This mixture of the periods of the Dream and this balance between the rhythms and their shadows, be the ambiences, very often coated by tones of the Phaedra years up to the White Eagle's one, arouses an attention which makes us discover beautiful musical pieces. The guitar is very present on this album, but surprisingly its perfumes remind more those of Steve Hackett on a Gandalf album (Gallery of Dreams) and even those of Mike Oldfield but rarely Edgar Froese's fragrances. On "Legacy", the six-strings drags its ghostly harmonies, mixing and losing even its sighs in those of the synths, on a structure of rhythm a bit ambiguous. I quite like it and it starts things pretty well. 

   Then comes "The Sea of Stars", written in collaboration of Johan Tronestam; one of the good emergent artists in the sphere of an EM fed by lively rhythms. And it's exactly what happens with "The Sea of Stars". I hooked on it straight on. It's very lively! I like this soft rhythm where the drum, the sequences and the bass pulsations pilfer for a rhythm saturated by so much heaviness. A steady rhythm where the guitar is fighting with a piano in order to throw a melody which floats between two structures; one ethereal and the other one sharply more lively. A kind of fight that we will be witnessing all over this last album from Sequential Dreams. 

  On a hyper nervous structure of rhythm, "Spirit Trance" hides a beautiful electronic melody, thus quite fragmented, which reminds me of White Eagle . It's alive, lively and full of effects which seek the atmospheres of Exit. This is a very beautiful collaboration with Synthesist

"HyperSpace" is bickering between good moments of atmospheres and its very rock electronic approach which brings us back in the Edgar's years on TDI. (Editor's note: features Altocirrus)

"Light Years Away" is another good moment. The rhythm is lively and heavy. It pulses in a meshing of resonances and in the beatings of good percussions whereas the melody remains ambient, divided it is in three approaches. It's a good track, just as "Blue Galaxy" written with Celestial View. Always leaned on this bed of sequences and softly nervous pulsations, the rather eclectic duet proposes us a very beautiful ethereal melody which hesitates between the moods of White Eagle  and of Seven Letters from Tibet.

 " Escape Velocity" is a track difficult to seize due to its constantly changing structures, like a grass-snake in permanent mutation of the skin. The intro will remind to certain of you these glass arpeggios that Yanni has used to spread in his Keys to Imagination. An intro in suspension where tears of synth float on pulsations which refuse to hatch. A huge bass line redirects then "Escape Velocity" towards a lively e-rock with a drum which is just too short of breath. This swirling rhythm inhales tones of the Dream while escaping good guitar solos. There is a good blend of Pink Floyd with the TDI years in this complex track which will please with more listenings. A heavier, a more incisive drum would have made of this track something huge. 

The influences of Pink Floyd are also very present in "Orbital Maneuvers", normal with Midnight Airship on board, which, after a very Syd Barrett and company characteristic intro, as well as Alan Parsons by the way, dives into the good e-rock. 

"Light Beyond the Abyss" is an interesting track. Its flute enchants the senses while a sequencing pattern is flickering such as the wings of a motionless bird in the sky. There is a latent swiftness in this track painted by effects of the Dream and of its metallic years around this track which, at times, dives in good and more intense moments. The flute is very exhilarating. "The Phoenix" concludes this collection of sonic odes to the memory of Edgar Froese with a heavy rhythm where the perfumes of saxophone awake this period where several of us have abandoned the Tangerine Dream ship and its commander Edgar.

Whether we like or not each of the periods and Edgar Froese's changes of address, “L3G4CY” is a beautiful sonic and musical document which could actually reconcile you with these times when ingredients were inevitably missing. Kuutana really succeeds to seduce in approaches which had nevertheless left me of ice in these years. The explanation is doubtless in the emotion. While everything sounded cold in the new directions of Edgar, here the heat and the degree of intensity, emotionalism, as well as this skillful mixture between the genres and the periods seduce ears which have difficulty in absorbing so many sounds and changes of direction inside the 7 minutes average which last the 10 tracks proposed on“L3G4CY”. Is it too much? That depends on ears! As for me, I quite liked this balance between the heavy but nervous e-rock and those more ethereal atmospheres. Between these old tones and those more contemporary in the last miles of Edgar. It's the beautiful recipe, a little daring, for another attractive work of the global collective that is Sequential Dreams. "

Sylvain Lupari (April 1st,2015)
gutsofdarkness.com & synthsequences.blogspot.ca

L3G4CY News

  • Reaching Escape Velocity on Space/Time Radio KRCB FM SPACE/TIME with DJ Paulest comes to you every 1st and 3rd Friday of the month from 2200 (10PM) to 0200 (2AM) PDT on North Bay Public Media, KRCB FM ...
    Posted Aug 21, 2015, 5:08 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on ALL FM 96.9 Mostly Ambient June 27, 2015Sequential Dreams' L3G4CY album track "The Sea of Stars" a track composed by Johan Tronestam (Finland) and Kuutana (Canada).More on Bing Satellites and Borders EdgeShow ...
    Posted Jul 4, 2015, 12:17 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on Rozoradio.nl July 5, 2015 - 22:00 UTC+2With thanks to radio host Marc Van Oers, Sequential Dreams music will be included on the night's playlist.Listen online at www ...
    Posted Jun 19, 2015, 1:27 PM by Ron Charron
  • L3G4CY on New Age Mit Rainer Thursday June 18th, 2015 18:00 (German time) on www.RSD-Radio.com Rainer Tyson Schramke played Sequential Dreams L3G4CY music on his online web radio program. Thank you Rainer ...
    Posted Jun 18, 2015, 12:13 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on Dave's Space Place Podcast for May 29, 2015May 29, 2015Listen to a great selection of music at Dave's Space Place!Sequential Dreams L3G4CY and Kuutana Rebirth tracks played!Thank you ...
    Posted May 31, 2015, 2:58 PM by Ron Charron
  • L3G4CY on Superclean Dream Machine Radio 078  Click image above to visit Superclean Dream Machine page on FacebookFor more Sequential Dreams L3G4CY news, reviews, and links Visit StoreJuly 5, 2015(and previously on the May ...
    Posted Jul 5, 2015, 2:42 PM by Ron Charron
  • May 24, and 31, 2015 - Modul303.com Listen to Modul303.com Now!Radio host, Wolf Red on Modul303.comSunday May 31, 2015More excellent radio specials on Modul303.com with Wolf playing music from the latest ...
    Posted May 31, 2015, 11:08 AM by Ron Charron
  • May 17th on Soundtag Modul303.com Wolf Red will be sharing music from the Sequential Dreams L3G4CY album Listen online at Modul303.comMore Sequential Dreams L3G4CY News, Reviews and Links
    Posted May 17, 2015, 7:22 AM by Ron Charron
  • May 10th 2015 - Modul303.com-Better Living With E - Volume 38  May 10th, 2015Starting a noon (German time) Fzk Wolf will be sharing the Sequential Dreams L3G4CY album track "Escape Velocity".Listen online at Modul303.comMore Sequential Dreams L3G4CY ...
    Posted May 10, 2015, 3:22 AM by Ron Charron
  • L3G4CY on Las Ostras Musicas Visit StoreClick image above or here to visit Las Ostras Musicas website. (logo (c) Las Ostras Musicas)Long running Spanish radio show "Las Ostras Musicas" sharing the sounds of ...
    Posted May 3, 2015, 11:49 AM by Ron Charron
Showing posts 1 - 10 of 26. View more »

L3G4CY Album Review by George Miler

posted Mar 24, 2015, 4:34 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated May 7, 2016, 6:56 PM ]

"Jaw-droppingly good"
A Review of Sequential Dream's Fifth Album "L3G4CY"
By George Miler, March 24, 2015
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/l3g4cy
   There aren’t many things I enjoy better than immersing myself in a luxurious soundscape. For the record, there are things I like more. A week ago on the first spring-like day I got my car inspected. One of the other customers wanted to chat and said how good it was to be able to drive with the windows down. The chorus of agreements came, including my “the best feeling in the world.” But I misspoke. Compared to winter’s lingering drear, it certainly felt like it at that moment. Even so, I was eagerly looking forward to listening to Sequential Dream’s latest album L3G4CY.
To listen to Kuutana you have to raise your musical appreciation a couple of notches or more. This didn’t require much effort on my part because my brain poked me in the ribs and made me sit up. At the same time those untraceable connections between the neocortex, the rear cortex, and the pineal gland lit up like neon. What I was conscious of was Kuutana’s assiduous deliberation in mixing these tracks. He has exercised the same care in choosing his collaborators.
This producer is also an imaginative SF writer, and I entertained the notion that the fine structure of these compositions reflected a narrative. My first listen is always done without any acquaintance with blurbs or promotional lit. Also there was no narrative provided here, but I had sensed a storyline in Midnight Airship: A River Once Flowed Here that made me think it was one of those soundtracks without a movie that invites the listener to fit a plot to it.
What did happen was that curiosity overcame me, so I watched for the info to pop up for each track. Sure enough, there was Celestial View on “Blue Galaxy”, Synthesist (the American Chris Pearre) on “Spirit Trance”, while Kuutana is listed in “Light Beyond the Abyss”. All of these fine worthies have collaborated before. Altocirrus (Sean and Clare McCarthy) appears for the first time, on “HyperSpace.”
Midnight Airship is listed on “Orbital Maneuvers” and I admit I experienced a moment’s confusion. As I said, I’m familiar with the album. And while “Legacy”  had already stimulated my synapses so much that I was able to resolve a significant perplexity that I had been ruminating about all day, not this time. So during a Facebook chat I asked Sean McCarthy to relieve my mental anguish. Before he replied I remembered how Michael Cretu’s Enigma was considered to be a project. So obviously is Midnight Airship. (Which means I can expect more!) When Sean got back to me he told me that these tracks have a theme. It wasn’t long before I went to the L3G4CY page on Borders Edge Music  and read that the album is a memorial tribute to Edgar Froese, the titan of EM who had overleaped all the intervening categories to create a genre of his own. This sure explains the panorama of images crowding my mind! (This is the particular legacy Froese alone and via Tangerine Dream has bequeathed to me, and it will endure to the end of my life.)
I think I perceive a philosophy or métaphysique in the output of Altocirrus and it numerous manifestations stemming from Sean and Clare’s collaborations with Ross Aka Man (Ross Ackerman) and the Electron Sun Project (feat. Ali Carter / Pure Mischief), Ross Ackerman, and Dean Burnett of Weathered Wall, namely a grim defiance of fate and doom. Being no “knight of ghosts and shadows” myself I’m going to slip behind the arras of stage names, groups and projects to affirm that Ron Charron retained Altocirrus’s track in its entirety and built upon it. The long form is Altocirrus’s métier, after all.
I need to get back “on track” myself to describe how jaw-droppingly good “Escape Velocity” is. About here the theme shifts to incorporate strains of Pink Floyd, who were equally at home in the vast spaces, undwarfed. I did indulge in full immersion for this one.

"The Sea of Stars" on Sequential Dreams "L3G4CY" Album

And if you can imagine a frisky romp Berlin style, you owe it to Johan Tronestam, “The Sea of Stars." "Light Years Away”, has phrases I love and a beat seemingly straight out of De Laurentiis’s underrated Flash Gordon. Fact of the matter is – and here comes the trademark Froese style as I write this – the theme throughout is Froese’s new address, which is the entire spatio-temporal cosmos. Now the progression is evident.
The culmination, “The Phoenix” is pure Sequential Dreams. One could almost say that these releases – not to mention the output of all the artists – are a living tribute to Edgar. A legacy, indeed. As for this track’s title…those whose opinions I respect immensely insist that a TD revival is flatly impossible. I honestly don’t know. And it may be redundant. Edgar’s genius is the sort of hadronic collision that creates a prismatic burst of particles that fans out to infinity forever.

L3G4CY News

  • Reaching Escape Velocity on Space/Time Radio KRCB FM SPACE/TIME with DJ Paulest comes to you every 1st and 3rd Friday of the month from 2200 (10PM) to 0200 (2AM) PDT on North Bay Public Media, KRCB FM ...
    Posted Aug 21, 2015, 5:08 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on ALL FM 96.9 Mostly Ambient June 27, 2015Sequential Dreams' L3G4CY album track "The Sea of Stars" a track composed by Johan Tronestam (Finland) and Kuutana (Canada).More on Bing Satellites and Borders EdgeShow ...
    Posted Jul 4, 2015, 12:17 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on Rozoradio.nl July 5, 2015 - 22:00 UTC+2With thanks to radio host Marc Van Oers, Sequential Dreams music will be included on the night's playlist.Listen online at www ...
    Posted Jun 19, 2015, 1:27 PM by Ron Charron
  • L3G4CY on New Age Mit Rainer Thursday June 18th, 2015 18:00 (German time) on www.RSD-Radio.com Rainer Tyson Schramke played Sequential Dreams L3G4CY music on his online web radio program. Thank you Rainer ...
    Posted Jun 18, 2015, 12:13 PM by Ron Charron
  • Sequential Dreams on Dave's Space Place Podcast for May 29, 2015May 29, 2015Listen to a great selection of music at Dave's Space Place!Sequential Dreams L3G4CY and Kuutana Rebirth tracks played!Thank you ...
    Posted May 31, 2015, 2:58 PM by Ron Charron
Showing posts 1 - 5 of 26. View more »

Synth Caresses - Midnight Airship Review

posted Mar 2, 2015, 1:13 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Mar 30, 2015, 3:40 PM ]

“A River Once Flowed Here” – Midnight Airship

Reviewed by Jose A.
http://synth-caresses.blogspot.com.es/search/label/Midnight%20Airship

March 2, 2015: Jose at the wonderful EM music blog Synth Caresses published a review of the Midnight Airship's intro album "A River Once Flowed Here".

A few highlights:https://midnightairship.bandcamp.com/releases
   "...  It takes no prisoners, blurring the borders between prog rock, electronic and jazz. Certainly the spirit of Pink Floyd hovers over many parts of this album, but Kuutana manages to imbue a very personal touch to the overall feeling of “A River Once Flowed Here” (...)  
The jazzy “Money For Your Soul” is a lovely moody piece with some echoes of the Floydian track “Money” –sans vocals, of course. Richly crafted, complex and very satisfying when one indulges in a deep listen to it. "


A Touch of Berlin Vol. 1 - Synth&Sequences Review

posted Jan 24, 2015, 7:39 AM by Ron Charron   [ updated Jan 25, 2015, 10:13 AM ]

<< A structure of rhythm which will explode in a e-rock a la Tangerine Dream >>


 
https://bordersedge.bandcamp.com/album/a-touch-of-berlin-vol-1
<<.. a structure of rhythm which will explode in a e-rock a la Tangerine Dream. "Floh" is pulled from the album Cosmic Touch, which is very well represented here with "Astral Gates", the superb "Nexus 6" and the solid "Encounter at Proxima 5", showing all the depth of this album which appears undoubtedly among the pleasant surprises of 2013. Kuutana also takes out a pearl of his Fantastic Stories album with the powerful "The Caves of Steel". This is a solid mix of e-rock and New Berlin School here. "Infinity Improbabilities" is the only vestige of Quantum Earth album and is doubtless the track which sticks the most to the ambiences of the Berlin School. I was very surprised by the heaviness of the circular rhythm of "Emerald Path", a very dark track with sinister moods of tension or horror movie which nests on the Walking Sun album released in 2013. An album that I never heard and if "Emerald Path" is a faithful reflection, that deserves an investigation. Another unknown track to me is the very ambiospherical "Ion Storm on Jupiter Station" from the Undiscovered Shores album, also released in 2013 which would deserves amply its place on a Berlin School compilation. But this track is at its place here. With "Infinite Improbabilities", they mix a little the New Berlin School and retro Berlin School genres with a skillful insertion between the rhythms of fire which make this beautiful and very fair compilation of Borders Edge Music rocking the house down and drawing dreams beyond stars...>>
Sylvain Lupari (January 14th, 2015)
For full review, please visit:
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/quantum-earth
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/cosmic-touch
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/fantastic-stories
https://kuutana.bandcamp.com/album/undiscovered-shores
https://kuutana.bandcamp.com/album/waking-sun




Midnight Airship - Intro Album Review by George Miler

posted Dec 1, 2014, 12:31 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Jan 24, 2015, 9:39 AM ]

<< A refreshing reinterpretation with the sound of a 21st-century production>>

 George Miler, December 1, 2014



Midnight-Airship
  A couple of months ago I came across an old comment thread in the news feed between two blokes who had collaborated on a track with the intention of sounding like Pink Floyd. Since, like Ravel, I believe that music ought to be emotional first and intellectual second, I let my subconscious mind decide. Then, among the self-doubts and the sparring, I chimed in with “Heck, yeah, this sounds like Pink Floyd.” I’m not in the habit of swooping down unannounced and having an emotional outburst (unless it’s about politics, but I have been exercising restraint recently) so I thought that this first time would be the only time.
I rarely watch The Simpsons either because, for all the clever lines, I hate anything associated with Rupert Murdoch and I think Matt Groening sold out. But one line that stuck with me from one episode was something like: “I’m tired of listening to the old oldies. How about some new oldies?” “Yeah!”
I can’t describe the effect Pink Floyd had on me, especially The Dark Side of the Moon and The Wall. Floyd provided the background score for my young adult struggle for love and glory and the warmth and goodness of life. There is a vast literature on the subject of human striving, but this is as intellectual and academic as I am going to get today.
What I’m venturing to say is that Midnight Airship sounds like Pink Floyd. (Heck, yeah.) Pink Floyd with an upgrade that creates a fresh style, like a new oldie. Kuutana has emerged as a mighty interesting producer in multifarious milieus, and has entered upon the field of psychedelic prog rock with commendable brio. This album could be the 21st-century version of Pink Floyd. And it has a message! (Along with compelling cover art.)
https://midnightairship.bandcamp.com/track/a-river-once-flowed-here-2

The Floyd vibe is very strong in the first track, “A River Once Flowed Here,” which possesses the skaldic saga manner of panegyric that prog shares with my favorite New Age ambient. The synth effects and their hopeful mood – including the airflow around the airship as it goes on its mission of mercy – segues seamlessly into the 21st century, complete with vocals, but ends with the trademark Gilmour riffs.



Money for Your Soul,” track 2, is quintessential Floyd, reminiscent of course of
https://midnightairship.bandcamp.com/track/money-for-your-soul
Dark Side’s track “Money,” which makes this track a classic theme in both senses of the word. The long dissonant tone with the soft, subtle guitar, along with the crisp, remorseless phrases bring a judgmental and nearly tragic sense of life to this track. The maniacal synth effects in the spaces between are like the sound of consciences being twisted in the act of selling out. There is more than a hint of Sixties experimental composition in this part, a lot of anguished dislocation which was felt much more acutely in that decade than in the Eighties. The cost in lost souls is the same. In the case of the merry yupsters, this loss was probably only as inconvenient as having an appendix removed. But there are still a lot of sensitive beings out there.

https://midnightairship.bandcamp.com/track/midnight-airdrop
The third track, “Midnight Airdrop" breathes the atmosphere of tech-noir cyberpunk, the reaction to the Eighties, yet affords ample scope to guitar and piano which ably support the theme of the majestic airship making its midnight airdrops and providing succor. The heavy, rapid rhythm adds a note of getting down to serious business, unlike the old ladies from social welfare. Good meets despair head-on and strikes a balance, gives birth to a new synthesis…

…and “Making It Right” (track 4) – which really sounds like Rick and David
and Nick are jamming in the studio with Roger. Even Dick Perry seems to come into this slow rocker to support the track’s ambient texture. Serious without being world-weary, it’s more about loyalty, courage, and justice.

Finishing up with track 5, “A Glimmer of Hope” is a departure with its low sonorous chords from which a cautiously triumphant theme rises like a craft on an upwardly arcing trajectory. This piece bears Kuutana’s unmistakable signature. The Floyd vibe is still there, of course, blended faultlessly together, along with a wavering, suspenseful Jeff Waynesque organ base which serves as a foundation for the soaring, optimistic parts.
Just the right mix of new and old, Kuutana has struck the right note with this update, a refreshing reinterpretation with the sound of a 21st-century production. Since centuries don’t really start until their fourteenth years, the 21st may yet be the “century of recovery” kicking off a few future histories.

 George Miler, December 1, 2014


Album released  December 2014
This album was composed, performed, recorded and produced by Borders Edge Music. BEM produces also Sequential Dreams, Sundown Cafe, Kuutana, The Roboter. 
Album cover Image CC BY-SA 3.0 Alex Kwok 
Final composed cover artwork by Jean-Luc Charron

Quantum Earth Review - Synth & Sequences

posted Oct 18, 2014, 7:19 AM by Ron Charron   [ updated Oct 19, 2014, 11:07 AM ]

“Solid e-rock, with a zest of IDM, 
flavoured of a futuristic vision, 
Quantum Earth has a lot to seduce those who want to rock on solid cosmic grounds”
Sylvain Lupari (October 17th, 2014) synthsequences.blogspot.ca

https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/quantum-earth
 


1 Quantum Earth 6:32
2 The Universe Builders 7:26
3 Destination Terra 7:10
4 Solar Sails 6:34
5 Celestial Bodies 5:14
6 The Ice Canyons of Miranda 6:00
7 Fireflies in the Starlight 4:48
8 Infinite Improbabilities 11:52
Sequential Dreams Bandcamp (DDL 55:38) ***½
( Psybient and Psybeat E-rock)


Buy

Quantum Earth Review by George Miler

posted Oct 6, 2014, 4:02 AM by Ron Charron   [ updated Oct 19, 2014, 11:09 AM ]


"I Can't Get Enough of This! Cinematic Grade A!"

George Miler, October 5th 2014



https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/album/quantum-earth
Sequential Dream's "Quantum Earth" album reviewed by George Miler
Buy  

    A Seraphic Decamillenium


    Something our species may get to do someday, according to thinkers as diverse as Neil deGrasse Tyson and David Brin, is to build universes. Sometimes I fancy that my favorite movies and shows are tucked away in several reconstructed black holes in our cosmos or in one of the multiverses hinted at by the latest observations of the Planck mission. Kuutana, Celestial View, Johan Tronestam, Chris Pearre (known as Synthesist), and Canada’s “The Roboter”  have collaborated on a similar project of cosmic interior decoration, except that it is long lost Earth and its system of planets that their characters, the children of legendary Terra, restore.
In this short story which provides the background, it is 10,000 years later, and 10,000 light-years away.

  
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/track/quantum-earth-celestial-view-the-roboter
 
The title track “Quantum Earth” is a busy number laced with cometary whooshes in an arena of cosmic vistas, followed by a muscular technetronic evocation of the future we do not expect to see. This sounds like the preparation for a journey, although it is not the point of origin that our remote posterity will visit, but the loving reconstruction of it via the technology they avail themselves of on the Universe Builder’s planet. Or perhaps this is a score for the journey to that planet. There’s a sense of promise and adventure whichever the case.

    In “The Universe Builders” Celestial View and The Roboter do a great job soundscaping the universe-building process and making it easy to visualize. Imagine a huge workshop in hyperspace with busy crews. Very enjoyable.
“Destination Terra” seems to start at 15 kilo-gees, gliding actually. Lots of good SF effects, and a gladdening, triumphal instrumental swell that must mean arrival. Very good use of large chords, Johan and Kuutana! (But I’m biased.)

 
https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/track/solar-sails-synthesist-kuutana
   
“Solar Sails” beggars description. There are parts of this track that are utterly beautiful; truthfully most of it is. Synthesist & Kuutana conjure up the majestic but fragile beauty of the real thing as the sunjammer sails on light and particle-flux. Wait til 2:27 to be enthralled, an experience that is repeated over and over again. I wish it were twice as long.

    “Celestial Bodies” must augur a grand tour of the solar system. Exotic worlds, yes, and the music to go with it. Yet I think I hear a truly outworld quality in this track by Celestial View & Kuutana. I’m minded of merchants who deal in the foodstuffs of hitherto undiscovered planets, delicacies of the starborn which 21st-century taste buds have not experienced, the excitement of markets teeming with spices and artistries of a star cluster’s worth of worlds. This raises the question: What viands are available aboard this sunjammer? The visitors to Solar System 2.0 may be discussing the merits and finer points of the menu.

    The Uranian moon named – like all of them – from Shakespeare’s plays is the locale for “The Ice Canyons of Miranda.” Cold crystalline canyons whose cliffs tower imperiously into a sky of dense black with stars sprinkled through it, not twinkling but hard and bright. The icy, faerie beauty is well wrought here. Then there is a speed-up past the walls of ice until they blur. This really feels like a tour in a chartered space-speedster, its propulsor-unit oscillations bringing forth faint resonances of Tangerine Dream.

https://sequentialdreams.bandcamp.com/track/fireflies-in-the-starlight
“Fireflies in the Starlight” is as ethereal as the title sounds. Tinkerbell without the Disney frivolity. An auditory delight.

“Infinite Improbabilities” – Real scientists love Hitchhiker’s Guide more than they do Star Wars because it’s pitched to them. They love the humor at any rate. The infinite improbability drive – if I correctly take it to be the inspiration for this track – has a more serious intent here. Echoes of “Drive” (Tomorrow’s World, but I’m guessing) in a few phrases are followed by a rapid percussive beat which could provide a high push to the business end of a space ship: or, in this case, the Quantum Drive of the Universe Builders. Our remote descendants must be getting ready to push onward to the farthest, most outlying probability strata.



I can’t get enough of this. Cinematic Grade A.

George Miler, October 5th 2014

Sunset Reverie Review by George Miler

posted Aug 26, 2014, 4:08 PM by Ron Charron   [ updated Oct 19, 2014, 1:18 PM ]


"Two very human souls are investing every musical phrase with a rich and mellow power"

George Miler on Sundown Cafe's Sunset Reverie Album August 24, 2014


https://sundowncafe.bandcamp.com/album/sunset-reverie


 The Bandcamp page* promised the sort of ambio-audionic experience I love to bliss out to. The write-up for track 2, “Suburban Sunset,” even reminds me of when New Age and easy-listening jazz became popular, when society got all suity and agonic. 

But from the first track “Midnight Sun”, Sundown Café’s Sunset Reverie has the undertones of heartfelt yet sophisticated passion.

On the question of genres – lines are somewhat arbitrary. The number of colors in the visible spectrum is infinity. A fact Kuutana and Celestial View seem to know on some level as they blend these influences consistently. The effect is seamless. Even the sax does not sound imported and plunked down, but is an essential, integral component that lends an incredible maturity to music that already possesses the resonance of lived experience. No empty tropes for their own sake like you might find in a bad graphic novel. This is replete with content from the very bedrock. Yet the whole effect of these enveloping layers of emotion, leavened by an earned expertise, is relaxed, and invites you to breathe deeply.

  My few encounters with Kuutana left me with the impression of a zesty, enthusiastic musician. And Celestial View’s shy
https://sundowncafe.bandcamp.com/track/nightfall
smile must be hiding something. Or perhaps it’s forbearance. The style I recognize as Kuutana’s is here, as in the beginning of “Nightfall,” but it quickly moves up to the next level. 

Speaking as an American, it evokes a time when this isolationist country grew up and took a good look at the world and became wise…without, in this case, becoming cynical.
No cyberpunk shortcuts to dystopia or urban angst here. Nothing raw or harsh, depressing or bleak. (A hint of melancholy, perhaps, like the red rays of sun in an autumnal city, every object smoothed and aged.) Two very human souls are investing every musical phrase with a rich and mellow power...


George Miler, August 24, 2014

EDITOR'S NOTE: Click on the image to go to the Bandcamp page.




1-10 of 17