Dark Flight

posted Aug 21, 2016, 6:55 AM by Ron Charron   [ updated Aug 22, 2016, 4:14 PM ]

Sounds of psy/art/post rock, but also a healthy serving of synthesized ambiences and soundscapes


https://bordersedge.bandcamp.com/album/dark-flight

    The "Dark Flight" album offers a crossover of genres, borrowing from flavors of "art" and "psychedelic" instrumental rock but always within a strong envelope of ambient electronic music. A newer designation, "Post-Rock" is associated with music originating from an instrumental rock background but which often uses the traditional rock instruments as textural and sonic instruments to create instrumental tapestries that also often blend with ambient and synthesizer created soundscapes. 

This compilation album, titled "Dark Flight" presents a selection of tracks chosen for their darker but ethereal characteristics. You will find many of the traditional sounds of psy/art/post rock, but also a healthy serving of synthesized ambiences and soundscapes. 

You can listen to this compilation album's radio launch on "The Borders Edge Special" show on www.modul303.com 
during this album's early release stage. 
Starting Sunday August 21 Midnight ET/US, 9pm PT/US, 6am CET, 5am UK 
and again at 8am ET/US, 14h CET, 13h UK, 
Then Tuesday 6pm E/US, 3pm PT/US, 11pm UK 
Wednesday Midnight CET 
Friday 19h CET, 18h UK, 1 pm ET/US, 11am PT/US

released August 21, 2016 

IMPORTANT NOTE: THIS IS A COMPILATION ALBUM - 
Although versions of the tracks on this album have previously been released in the albums listed below, two brand new tracks are also included, never before released on any album (*) 

Track# / Track Title / Artist / Album where initially published 

(*) 1. Dark Flight, Midnight Airship, Previously unreleased 
2. Mojave Midnight, Sequential Dreams (Bernhard Beibl, Kuutana), Legends 
3. Across Dimensions, Sequential Dreams (Altocirrus, Kuutana), Lost Dimensions 
4. Flugzeug, The Roboter, Trans-Europa InfoBahn 
5. The Chase, The Roboter, Trans-Europa InfoBahn 
6. Stormchaser, Starship Trooper, The Great Pond in the Sky 
(*) 7. For Whom the Bell Tolls, Midnight Airship, Previously unreleased 
8. Second Horizon, Kuutana, Second Horizon 
9. Magellan, Kuutana, Waking Sun 

Album artwork image (c) 2016 Jean-Luc and Ron Charron 

Sourced from these original Borders Edge Records Albums: 

We invite you to visit www.bordersedge.com/radio for more information on this album and other albums in the series.